The McHugh House was built in 1905 by John L. Wall, Zachary’s first depot agent. It was built on the site of a former home claimed by the Great Fire of 1903. In 1919, Wall sold the property to Jesse W. McHugh, who owned a large mercantile store at the present site of the Zachary Fire Department on Main Street. After McHugh and his wife died, their children donated the property to the City of Zachary in 1973. It is now used as part of the museum and is completely furnished in the Victorian style. Its unique floor plan is just one aspect of the home that marks it as a Queen Anne architectural style structure. The McHugh House’s overall sophisticated design suggests the hand of a professional architect or, more probably, a mail-order architect, as was common at the time. The very open floor plan would fit right into today’s popular home construction. The gingerbread trim and the wrap-around front porch are other Queen Anne characteristics. Exhibits include several furniture and decorative items that were owned and donated, along with the house, to the City of Zachary by the McHugh Family.